Becoming The Main Characters

M. Doyle Author Interview

James’ Ragtag Adventure in Questworld follows a group of friends trapped in a video game who release the Goblin Queen and must stop her from destroying the world. What was the inspiration for the setup to your story?

I’d have to say a lot of my inspiration comes from the many years spent playing Dungeons and Dragons and just derailing our DM’s campaigns by attempting the most ridiculous but awesome looking plans to handle whatever situations our characters found themselves in.

That and my love of anime are pretty much the biggest inspirations for this series. I enjoy a lot of the isekai (trapped in another world) type anime and having that as the backdrop provided me with a somewhat believable way to explain the main characters abilities to use flashy, over the top attacks, which in turn allows me to depict all the epic, flashy fights and encounters that I imagine in my head.

Did you create an outline for the characters in the story before you started writing or did the characters personalities grow organically as you were writing?

I had a pretty good idea of the types of characters I wanted, such as the brains, the muscle, the sarcastic one, the shy one, and the leader. Conveniently enough, a few friends and family, including my niece and nephew, fit those character types to a T, so they basically ended up becoming the main characters of the story.

Since I’m a pantser, and usually start a story with little more than a sentence or two of an overall plot or idea, and have the characters tell me where the story is going. So having the characters based on people I knew extremely well made this process incredibly fast and easy, and I think I finished this book in about 2 weeks, give or take.

What were some themes that were important for you to explore in this book?

Friendship and having each other’s backs is the biggest theme in this series. I personally only have a handful of people I’d call friends and if they ever need me, I’m there, and vice versa, So that’s something that just naturally weaved its way into the story without me giving any real thought to it.

What is the next book that you are working on and when will it be available?

Right now I am working on two projects. First is 5th book in this series, titled Rise of the God King, which is about 95% finished at this point. The second project I’m working on is for the 2nd book of a spin off series called Antoinette: Monster Vet, which follows the adventures of one of the side characters from the James’s Ragtag Adventures series.

Author Links: GoodReads | Twitter | Facebook | Website

What’s the first thing you do after you wake up one morning and find yourself trapped inside what you believe is your favorite video game?If you said try and find a way back home, you’d be completely wrong. Especially if you’re anything like my friends and me. Instead, you use your game knowledge to finish a few easy quests, get yourself some money for room and board, and then hope a way back home just conveniently falls into your lap.That is of course until you decide to take on a quest that turns out to be just a little bit out of your league. How little bit you ask? Little bit enough that you end up releasing an ancient goblin queen named Vanika, whose only goal is to take over the world with her army of goblins.Yeah, looking back on it, it really wasn’t one of our better decisions. But hey, it could be worse, right? I mean, I can’t think of anything right this second, but I’m pretty sure there’s something out there that’s way worse than this.But anyway, now we gotta take our extremely worn-out equipment, and barely passable fighting skills, and use them to defeat an entire goblin army, including their magical, super-powered queen before they decide to take over the world. No pressure, right? I mean, how hard can it really be?I guess there’s only one way to find out.James’s Ragtag Adventures in Questworld is a middle grade, fantasy adventure series for fans of Percy Jackson, The Last Kids on Earth, and Trapped in a Video Game

About Literary Titan

The Literary Titan is an organization of professional editors, writers, and professors that have a passion for the written word. We review fiction and non-fiction books in many different genres, as well as conduct author interviews, and recognize talented authors with our Literary Book Award. We are privileged to work with so many creative authors around the globe.

Posted on May 28, 2022, in Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: