Wild Daydreams

Ashley White Author Interview

The Impossible Girl follows a teen that has discovered her magical abilities, but her talents frighten those in power. She must find out why she is different. What was the inspiration for the setup to your story?​

Inspiration comes to us in the strangest of ways and at the strangest of times. Since I was a child, I knew I wanted to be a writer. Naturally, I was a reader with a wild imagination…something I’ve never quite grown out of (thankfully). I could be anywhere and the littlest of things would spark a story idea. I had notebooks full of them by the time I was a teenager. One of the things I’d often dream up stories about (which would later inspire the entire setup of THE IMPOSSIBLE GIRL) was the crescent shaped birthmark on my right wrist. Such a simple thing it was, but to me as a child, it was always something to keep me entertained and dreaming as to why I had it or what it meant. With The Impossible Girl releasing this August, I’m grateful to the child that I was and for all the great authors who instilled in me a love of reading and believing in the impossible – because some of those wild daydreams made it into my book (the crescent shaped scar included).

Ava is shocked to find out she has magic and must learn about her past and her abilities while also dealing with normal teenage emotions. What were some driving ideals behind your character’s development?

We can all have waves of feelings and by demonstrating Ava’s doubts and insecurities along with her self-determination and kindness, it’s reflective of a young person’s life and the journey they are on. Ava finds her footing in a world she belongs to, learns to speak up for herself, and that it’s ok to be vulnerable. She finds a group of friends she forges deep and meaningful bonds with and grows to love. She finds a place in this found family of her choosing.

What were some themes that were important for you to explore in this book?

While there’s a lot of themes I hope people pick up on and identify with, the biggest one is this: Nothing is impossible. There’s a quote I like by Audrey Hepburn, “Nothing is impossible, the word itself says “I’m possible.” To each and every person reading THE IMPOSSIBLE GIRL, that is what I hope they takeaway. Follow your dreams, defy the limitations placed on you, and do the things you never thought possible.

What is the next book that you are working on and when will it be available?

I’m currently working on the sequel to THE IMPOSSIBLE GIRL. It’s an amazing experience building and expanding this world and I’m having so much fun writing it!

Author Linktree: https://linktr.ee/AshleyWhiteWrites

Ava Marie Jones is a Lost One. A magite sent out at birth to the mortal realm, no knowledge of who she is or her powers, until she’s called home to Xarcadia on her thirteenth birthday.
 
The magites who call this “underworld” home live under the strict dictates of The Registry-and Ava will have to do the same. That starts with enrolling in Linhollow Academy for the Supernaturally Gifted.
 
A target is placed on her back once it’s discovered Ava’s the only magite since The Registry’s inception to not be tagged or able to be tagged in its omniscient system. Powerful magites fear what this could mean and view her as a threat to a way of life that has kept their “underworld” safe for three hundred years.
 
With all eyes on her, including two oversized shadows from The Registry watching her every move, Ava must toe the line as Resistance Riders, kelpies, near-death experiences, and other dangers follow her everywhere.
 
In this new world where she shows incredible promise in her craft, Ava will learn that getting to the bottom of her unexplained existence will take her down a perilous path where a dark secret lurks-one dangerous enough to disrupt the entire order of The Registry and jeopardize her life and the lives of her new friends.

Fall in love with this new series from debut fantasy author, Ashley White. For fans of J. K. Rowling and Rick Riordan, The Impossible Girl will be the perfect novel to add to your collection.

About Literary Titan

The Literary Titan is an organization of professional editors, writers, and professors that have a passion for the written word. We review fiction and non-fiction books in many different genres, as well as conduct author interviews, and recognize talented authors with our Literary Book Award. We are privileged to work with so many creative authors around the globe.

Posted on April 24, 2022, in Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: