Blog Archives

Palisades of the Heart

Phyllis A. Still’s Palisades of the Heart: Dangerous Loyalties, Book Four, is a captivating young adult historical romance that picks up right where its predecessor, Warrior on the Western Waters, left off. Set in August 1776, the novel follows Mary Shirley as she and her family settle into their new home in Cooks Fort, Western Virginia, following their escape from the Shawnee village. Mary is now nearly 15 years old and must navigate the challenges of finding peace after her traumatic experiences while also exploring her first love with William McGuire, a scout for Cooks Fort.

Still masterfully crafts Mary’s story, introducing new characters while developing the ones readers have come to know and love. What stands out most is Mary’s character development. Readers witness her transformation from a young girl to a woman who grapples with the lingering effects of her past trauma. Still writes about Mary’s PTSD with care and delicacy, so much so that even readers unfamiliar with the previous books will understand what she’s been through.

The perfectly crafted dynamic between Mary and Will is another highlight of the book. Still captures the beauty of first love through these characters, detailing their shyness and constant thoughts of one another. Their story reminds us that love is a constant throughout history. A fun fact about the book is that Phyllis is an eighth-generation descendant of DAR Patriot Mary Shirley McGuire, who inspired the Dangerous Loyalties series. Still’s commitment to doing justice to her ancestors shines through in this successful and thoroughly enjoyable series.

Palisades Of The Heart is a fantastic read for historical fiction enthusiasts. This story of romance and the thrilling adventure that comes from living on the frontier is sure to capture the heart of readers. Whether you’ve read the previous books or not, the novel will keep you captivated from beginning to end.

Pages: 257 | ASIN : B0BVGN6XPC

Buy Now From Amazon
%d bloggers like this: