Looking For An Escape

Lorin Petrazilka
Lorin Petrazilka Author Interview

Vale Born follows a young woman who discovers she’s half Fae as she sets out to find her missing friend and gets caught in the middle of a war. What was the inspiration for the setup to your story?

I wanted to write a great fantasy adventure with epic world building and thrilling situations. I knew basically what I wanted to write, but I wasn’t sure where I wanted to start. I was visiting my family ranch in San Diego when inspiration struck. In the hills far off to the east there is a grouping of cliff rocks that I grew up looking at, they always felt off-limits and forbidden. That was the start of it all, the question of what if I had always been drawn to that area for a reason? The idea that the rocks were alluring because there was a tear in the Vale germinated–a passage to another world, and only someone who was born near the Vale could pass through it. The whole story evolved from that point.

Lily is an intriguing and well developed character. What were some driving ideals behind her character’s development?

It was important to me that Lily is a proactive protagonist, though she is displaced in a mystical world and seemingly stuck there, I wanted her to have agency. It was also important to me that she not be perfect, and on top of that she is dealing with her own issues of anxiety and PTSD. She gradually starts to face those issues rather than avoid them. As we join her on her adventure, we get to be there for her journey of healing and self-discovery as well.

What were some themes that were important for you to explore in this book?

I wanted there to be diverse magical creatures and for the story to feel very lush and vivid, but I still wanted it to be relatable to the human experience. There were several themes I wanted to include, while this book deals with loss and recovery from that, I wanted to explore what happens to a young person when they don’t take the path that they had always expected they would take, such as a specific career or college. She had always intended to become a horse veterinarian, yet when it came time to actually pursue that goal, she turned away from it, and didn’t move forward. I really wanted to dive into what Lily would be feeling at this point, as she is now twenty-one. Lily’s anxiety and PTSD stem from an event that changed the course of her life. She’s looking for an escape, which is another way for her to avoid moving forward. Instead of an escape, she finds her decisions are far more critical and involve more than just her as she’s confronted with life-and-death situations.

What is the next book that you are working on and when will it be available?

I just finished the first draft for the third book in the Vale Born series. I like to give a little breathing room after finishing a draft before editing begins, so while that simmers I’ll be working on a fantasy Christmas novella set with fellow author Laura L. Hohman. I’m looking forward to writing something different! We expect those to be released around Thanksgiving this year.

Author Links: GoodReads | Twitter | Website | Instagram

A thrilling adventure, a sexy escape. Desperate to find her missing best friend Josie, Lily Brennanfalk’s hope is renewed when she picks up Josie’s trail in a mystical world. A chance meeting with a charming Umorfae turns to a fight for survival, as Lily finds herself embroiled in a battle between the warring Fae.
She makes a deal with a lethally attractive male that could save them both, as she tracks down her friend…if it’s not too late.
She must grow past her trauma and learn what it means to be Vale Born, if she is going to survive the treacherous perils of Alternis.
Fans of Sarah J. Maas’s A Court of Thorns and Roses will love this lush and vivid adventure. Vale Born is the first in a New Adult fantasy novel series.

About Literary Titan

The Literary Titan is an organization of professional editors, writers, and professors that have a passion for the written word. We review fiction and non-fiction books in many different genres, as well as conduct author interviews, and recognize talented authors with our Literary Book Award. We are privileged to work with so many creative authors around the globe.

Posted on July 4, 2021, in Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: