Suspicious Eyes Taints The Heart 

In Suspicious Eyes Taint the Heart, a collection of poems is divided into five parts. First, author Elsie Asiata explores a myriad of themes that have permeated her life. Beginning by introducing her infancy, Asiata’s verses paint the image of a headstrong child who suffered from absent parents and violent turmoil during a large part of her childhood. Next, lacking close friends and family support, the poem references multiple suicide attempts and an abysmal feeling of despair.

The second part, in contrast, shows a grown-up, mature poetic persona who is freed from the ghosts of her past and sailing through life while experiencing healthy friendships and enjoying casual sexual encounters. However, it ends on a dark note with an account of failed love and single motherhood.

Section three focuses on religious revelation and how the author returned to her faith after struggling with it during her distressing early years. The fourth part is a touching personal testimony on how she overcame her troubles and learned self-love and assertion, which she found through religion. Finally, part five ties up the book with more verses on her relationship with the sacred.

This emotional book is a quick read that will certainly resonate with women who have faced the romantic, familiar, and social hurdles imposed by a patriarchal society. The pains experienced by her as a child are consistent throughout part one, but especially and vividly captured in the first section’s final poem, A Life Is Slipping Away. This poem is an account of a traumatic experience that enticed a morbid train of thought and probably one of the most impacting pieces of poetry in the collection.

The thought-provoking poems are written really well, capturing the author’s emotions at different stages in her life. While reflecting on her past, there is a slight judgemental tone towards her prior promiscuous behavior while still accepting that it is part of what made her who she is now.

Suspicious Eyes Taints The Heart is an empowering and inspirational collection of poetry that will take the reader on an emotional rollercoaster. The author shares all the pain and joy of her struggle with her traumatic past and finding salvation with God’s love.

Pages: 74 | ISBN : 0645286036

Buy Now From Amazon

About Literary Titan

The Literary Titan is an organization of professional editors, writers, and professors that have a passion for the written word. We review fiction and non-fiction books in many different genres, as well as conduct author interviews, and recognize talented authors with our Literary Book Award. We are privileged to work with so many creative authors around the globe.

Posted on April 19, 2022, in Book Reviews, Four Stars and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: