This Earth-shattering Mystery

James McPike Author Interview

The Brink follows an archaeologist who discovers a cave painting that could shatter the worldwide religious order and becomes the target of a sinister organization. What was the inspiration for the setup to your story?

It has been years since I last wrote a book. I finished a trilogy so I was content on that. You never really know what will inspire you until the moment happens. For me I was watching a very intriguing history show and the thing absolutely captivated me. I knew right then and there that I had to somehow write a book with these shocking revelations about history that few of us know about. Luckily, I already had an ideal character in place from my previous trilogy who was perfectly suited to tackle this earth-shattering mystery.

Vince Ramsey is an intriguing character that I enjoyed following. What were some driving ideals behind your character’s development?

I created this character over a decade ago. As a Christian myself, I wanted someone who knew everything about the Bible but was also just as comparable to a James Bond or Indiana Jones character. Vince Ramsey is that guy. He’s no-nonsense, gets to the root of the problem, and solves it without letting anything get in his way. He’s my ideal type of hero and I can’t wait for readers to get to know him on his latest journey. They’ll get a chance to see how he operates in order to solve cases with dire end-of-the-world implications, not always by the book but he gets results.

What were some themes that were important for you to explore in this book?

A lot of the time as I write, I learn right alongside the characters and just as the readers do as the story unfolds. I have a handful of notes but never try to predetermine or force and preplan every scene. I have a general outline of course, but I like to keep the story spontaneous and fresh for the benefit of the reader, and hopefully let a natural progression flow. Like Stephen King once said, “Sometimes a book writes itself.” Themes I explore in this book are just what the readers will experience, a lot of obscure history that blows the lid off every textbook I ever read!

What is the next book that you are working on and when will it be available?

Nothing in the works as of yet, but then again, like I said before, you never know what will come along and inspire me. I usually write one book every 2-3 years and that’s been the trend so far and I hope that continues. I only write when the mood strikes me. Many thanks to all the readers out there for their unwavering support! In a crowded field it never goes unnoticed and it can make a world of difference for any author!

Author Links: GoodReads | Twitter

THE WORLD IS ON … THE BRINK
When a young archaeologist discovers the earliest known cave painting hidden deep within the heart of Africa, she suddenly becomes the target of a sinister organization. They will stop at nothing to keep the truth hidden, knowing it could shatter the fabric of religious order worldwide and rewrite history as we know it. In comes Vince Ramsey, Israel’s top investigator and biblical scholar for matters like these. He must not only protect the archaeologist as they embark on a dangerous journey through Europe’s most iconic ruins—but he must help her find a mystical relic with ties to an ancient royal dynasty—one so powerful that it ruled the continent after the fall of the Roman Empire. Can they be the ones to solve a mystery for the ages—or will history repeat itself—once again?
 
*For fans of James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Preston & Child

About Literary Titan

The Literary Titan is an organization of professional editors, writers, and professors that have a passion for the written word. We review fiction and non-fiction books in many different genres, as well as conduct author interviews, and recognize talented authors with our Literary Book Award. We are privileged to work with so many creative authors around the globe.

Posted on July 2, 2022, in Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: