Blog Archives

This Earth-shattering Mystery

James McPike Author Interview

The Brink follows an archaeologist who discovers a cave painting that could shatter the worldwide religious order and becomes the target of a sinister organization. What was the inspiration for the setup to your story?

It has been years since I last wrote a book. I finished a trilogy so I was content on that. You never really know what will inspire you until the moment happens. For me I was watching a very intriguing history show and the thing absolutely captivated me. I knew right then and there that I had to somehow write a book with these shocking revelations about history that few of us know about. Luckily, I already had an ideal character in place from my previous trilogy who was perfectly suited to tackle this earth-shattering mystery.

Vince Ramsey is an intriguing character that I enjoyed following. What were some driving ideals behind your character’s development?

I created this character over a decade ago. As a Christian myself, I wanted someone who knew everything about the Bible but was also just as comparable to a James Bond or Indiana Jones character. Vince Ramsey is that guy. He’s no-nonsense, gets to the root of the problem, and solves it without letting anything get in his way. He’s my ideal type of hero and I can’t wait for readers to get to know him on his latest journey. They’ll get a chance to see how he operates in order to solve cases with dire end-of-the-world implications, not always by the book but he gets results.

What were some themes that were important for you to explore in this book?

A lot of the time as I write, I learn right alongside the characters and just as the readers do as the story unfolds. I have a handful of notes but never try to predetermine or force and preplan every scene. I have a general outline of course, but I like to keep the story spontaneous and fresh for the benefit of the reader, and hopefully let a natural progression flow. Like Stephen King once said, “Sometimes a book writes itself.” Themes I explore in this book are just what the readers will experience, a lot of obscure history that blows the lid off every textbook I ever read!

What is the next book that you are working on and when will it be available?

Nothing in the works as of yet, but then again, like I said before, you never know what will come along and inspire me. I usually write one book every 2-3 years and that’s been the trend so far and I hope that continues. I only write when the mood strikes me. Many thanks to all the readers out there for their unwavering support! In a crowded field it never goes unnoticed and it can make a world of difference for any author!

Author Links: GoodReads | Twitter

THE WORLD IS ON … THE BRINK
When a young archaeologist discovers the earliest known cave painting hidden deep within the heart of Africa, she suddenly becomes the target of a sinister organization. They will stop at nothing to keep the truth hidden, knowing it could shatter the fabric of religious order worldwide and rewrite history as we know it. In comes Vince Ramsey, Israel’s top investigator and biblical scholar for matters like these. He must not only protect the archaeologist as they embark on a dangerous journey through Europe’s most iconic ruins—but he must help her find a mystical relic with ties to an ancient royal dynasty—one so powerful that it ruled the continent after the fall of the Roman Empire. Can they be the ones to solve a mystery for the ages—or will history repeat itself—once again?
 
*For fans of James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Preston & Child

The Brink

Julie Tiscareno is an archaeologist who sets out on a trek through the remote wilderness of Botswana to learn more about the indigenous San people. She documents the discovery of what she believes to be the world’s oldest petroglyphs found in a sacred cave. After an explosion causes a rock slide that traps her inside, along with her African guide, Kemba, and a student from the local university, they escape out another exit to find Kemba’s village under attack. They are too far away to help and can only watch in horror as everyone is killed and the village burned. Why was the village destroyed and who is responsible? Could it be related to her recent discovery? And how is this connected to the murder of a cyber-security analyst for the Ministry of Jerusalem? It will be up to Vince Ramsey to find out the answers–but how can he focus on this when there is trouble back home?

I loved the global feel of this suspenseful novel. Especially when events happen on different continents and we find out that they’re connected, the writing makes it feel like this story can go anywhere. Readers who enjoy history will revel in the historical elements that weave this suspenseful story together and ground this otherwise fantastic adventure. There are so many things that are unknown throughout the story that readers must piece together. The author sure does know how to consistently elevate the level of intrigue in the story with a balance of curious little mysteries and interesting resolutions. I was very invested in the mystery of why Ramsey’s friend was murdered and I wanted to see how the threat to Ramsey’s wife April would be eliminated.

I liked the sense of urgency during most of the story as it truly does feel like a race against time for Vince Ramsey to complete his mission and return home to save his wife and unborn baby, and he must discover the truth so that his family will not be placed in danger again. However, I felt that the domestic aspects of Vince Ramsey’s everyday life, which are shown at the beginning of the story in scenes with his wife, slowed the pace of the story a bit. I was much more interested in jumping right to following the trail of clues to learn who killed D.K. and what happened to Julie after she disappeared.

The Brink is a spirited adventure novel with a surprising ending that I was certainly not expecting, but enjoyed nonetheless. Even though this is the fourth book in the series, I think that it can still be read and enjoyed as a standalone story. Fans of globe-trotting action adventure novels will find James McPike’s mystery novel simply engrossing.

Pages: 309 | ASIN: B09YMQCDFD

Buy Now From Amazon
%d bloggers like this: