Blog Archives

Up To My Neck in Werewolves and Vampires

VK Fox
VK Fox Author Interview

Indie Saint follows a young woman who suddenly possess powerful abilities and embarks on a dangerous quest to stop a madwoman from destroying the multiverse. What was the inspiration for the setup to your story?

My biggest inspiration was to draw a comparison between the protagonist, Jane, and the antagonist, Eileen. They are both women who suddenly have the power to change the world. They both have family struggles and a desire to help other people. They both come from humble roots and are afraid of the rapid changes in their lives – both mundane and supernatural. However Jane works to stand against the darkness even though she is afraid and Eileen chooses to hide behind it. I wanted to show what happens when fear rules our actions and prevents us from being who we are meant to be. I liked the idea of contrasting that when we are faced with incredible challenges we can choose to stand tall or let it twist us.

For the setting I wanted to pull some flavor that doesn’t usually get page time. My inspirations from Catholic tradition, Sumerian Mythology, Urban Legends, and Jewish Mysticism (later books) is the kind of thing I crave as a reader who has been up to my neck in werewolves and vampires for the last two and a half decades.

Jane is an intriguing and well developed character. What were some driving ideals behind your character’s development?

Jane is a combination of two of my friends from high school with a dose of Urban Fantasy lady protagonist thrown in the mix. I liked the idea of starting the book with a character that hit a few tropes so I could gently subvert as the story went on. A strong, snarky woman – but she’s primarily a healer, not a badass combatant. She’s inexperienced and sometimes clueless, but she questions everything she learns and realizes quickly that some of the pieces don’t fit (more on that in later books.) She’s swept up in a whirlwind romance, but instead of throwing caution to the wind she thinks about her choices and implements boundaries. I tried to tie her struggles and decisions back to core ideas that everyone has to face in real life because, ultimately, that’s why superheros are interesting: not because they have powers but because we can see ourselves in them.

This seemed like a fun book to write. What scene did you have the most fun writing?

I loved writing the Bunnyman scene – it was probably the most difficult because the point of view was so skewed, but trying to walk the line between horror and ridiculousness is one of my favorite elements to play with. The Jersey Devil fight was also very enjoyable – I based the initial encounter on an interview with a woman who survived a grisly bear mauling and incorporating her first hand descriptions of the event gave the scene a lot of flavor. Dialogue was also highly enjoyable, the characters developed their own voices very quickly and intra-character dynamics were really enjoyable to write. It often felt more like I was recording a conversation than making it up myself.

What is the next book that you are working on and when will it be available?

Neon Redemption (Words of Power book #2) and Suicide Kings (Words of Power book #3) are available now through Amazon! Righteous Eight (Words of Power book #4) will be released August 17th. While this series is coming out I have started a new series about a man named Wade Rhodes in rural Virginia who works for the supernatural branch of animal control and is sent out on cryptid calls. I am planning on doing a mash up of a redneck Supernatural and a gay retelling of The Little Mermaid. His urban fantasy romance adventure is still in the works, but I hope to be ready to look for a publisher by Christmas.

Author Links: GoodReads | TikTok | Facebook | Website

Jane’s young. She’s broke. Oh, and she just discovered she has supernatural powers so bizarre they may end up killing her.

Since she read a biography of Catholic saints and began spontaneously healing the sick and calling down lightning, Jane’s day-to-day has become a trippy journey of self-discovery. Lucky thing a pair of magical special agents appear and offer to train her because it turns out that, not only has Jane’s life taken a hard turn for the weird, but the fabric of reality is beginning to unravel.

Urban legends like Mothman, the Jersey Devil, and Bunnyman are manifesting in a sleepy Pennsylvania town, and they are haaangry.

The good news: Jane’s new boyfriend is part of an ancient corporation of literary superheroes ready to save the world. The bad news: life expectancy for people with powers kind of sucks.

If Jane wants to live long enough to see the year 2000, she’ll have to work with her new mentor, a teenaged, angsty King Arthur; her current crush, cuddly god-man Enkidu, and a gun-nun from a neighboring comba-convent to seize her role as a try-hard hero and stop a middle-aged madwoman from ripping a hole in the multiverse.

Indie Saint is an urban fantasy adventure with a dose of Sumerian, Arthurian, and modern mythologies, and a dash of romance. Fans of Quentin Tarantino, Tamsyn Muir, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer will enjoy the cheeky writing, toasty romance, and technicolor brawls.

Note: This series features M/F and M/M slow burn, steamy romance that starts sweet and gets spicy in later books.

Indie Saint

Indie Saint, by author VK Fox, is a captivating urban fantasy story that follows Jane, a girl trying to run away from her past. Doing so gets much easier when she develops the power to heal and channel lightning from the sky after reading a book about Catholic saints throughout history. It all seems exciting until she realizes using these newfound abilities almost kills her every time. Jane crosses paths with two agents who can give her the answers she’s looking for. Where did these powers actually come from? Why did they happen specifically to her? How can she control them?

Jane is a fascinating character that I loved to follow, especially in this creative urban fantasy world that is imbued with elements of Arthurian and Sumerian myths. The story is punchy but smart. It reminds me of the humorous writing of A. Lee Martinez, especially his book Monster. It also has the enigmatic feel of the Preacher comic series in the way it takes seriously some very paranormal situations. This is a fantasy novel with an attitude and I look forward to seeing that unique character expand throughout the series.

Author VK Fox’s writing is mesmerizing and he certainly knows how to end a chapter, as I was always desperate to read the next. Indie Saint is the first in a series of four new adult fantasy books. Just like the riveting end to nearly every chapter, Fox concluded this piece leaving the reader itching to get their hands on the second book.

While I enjoyed the novel, I wanted more insight into the main villain of the story. All the characters in the story are compelling and entertaining in their own right, I felt like the villain was missing something. But this is probably purposeful as we will surely find out more in the coming novels. 

Indie Saint is a riotously fun book with an intriguing cast of characters facing an imaginative supernatural world that is only hinting at a deeper backstory.

Pages: 262 | ASIN: B08YLVG8HZ

Buy Now From B&N.com

%d bloggers like this: