Blog Archives

Primeval Origins: Light of Honor

Primeval Origins: Light of Honor (Book #2 in the Primeval Origins Epic Saga) by [B.A. Vonsik]

Light of Honor begins when paleontology-archaeology grad student Nikki and her professor are aboard the Wind Runner, escaping from international organizations intent on hunting them down before they uncover more secrets from the past and future. It’s an action-packed beginning and does not waste any time dredging up the details of the past book. In the previous book, Nikki had explored the distant past by inhabiting the body of Rogaan, a teenager who was found in stasis in her archaeology dig. This time, she learns about a humanoid race called Evendiir and its connection with Rogaan. It’s a rush to disentangle the puzzles both these artefacts have created before Nikki gets hunted down.

This is a sweeping and dramatic story that just swoops you out of wherever your mind currently is and takes you to magical faraway lands. It is definitely an intense read that digs into the details, even going as far as giving us the make and style of the secondary character’s shirt. However, I think this is to be expected from an epic fantasy read that is building a fully realized world. It really allowed me to see, hear, feel, and experience new worlds, whether past or present.

I would say it is similar to the first book, Paths of Anguish, in terms of pace and suspense but the tone is darker. It has a deeper and more gritty atmosphere. There is an element of psychological thriller to it which really just made it all the more better. Watching Aren and Nikki struggle with their memories and piece together an increasingly complicated puzzle was an extremely satisfying process. Nikki and Rogaan definitely grew on me more in this book as they had to tackle some complex moral dilemmas that really allowed me to understand the way they ticked. It was incredibly easy to root for them after watching them struggle and be vulnerable.

I don’t think it’s necessary to read the first book in the series to enjoy this one but it would be a good idea to get familiarized with the vocabulary and dialect of the ancient world. There’s also some Easter egg-ish storylines that were continued or wrapped up from the first book. Light of Honor is a thrilling fantasy adventure read that knows where it’s going and takes the most entertaining path to get there.

Pages: 294 | ASIN: B0186PBOIC

Buy Now From B&N.com

Primeval Origins: Paths of Anguish

Primeval Origins: Paths of Anguish (Book 1 in the Primeval Origins Epic Saga) by [B.A. Vonsik]

Paths of Anguish by BA Vonsik is an epic fantasy-adventure novel that begins in the present and ends up in fantastical times and places. It all starts when a strange artifact is discovered at an archeological site by a young paleontology student, Nikki. The mystery object seems to possess some space-time continuum bending properties and she is soon transported to the ancient past when a literal hole-in-the-ground opens up beneath her. She finds herself in a different time and place, and even a different person, in a place where where the rules are unknown and the dangers seem unstoppable.

The world-building in this story is spectacular. It makes for some dense reading but I feel like I’m being transported into a totally different world. It’s atmospheric and the tiniest details are given attention– from the misty breezes to the glint of a blade. The descriptions make it much more atmospheric. This is not to say the book is slow, rather, it is well-paced. The action scenes had me flipping pages and kept me engrossed in the story.

I was enthralled by the dynamic between Rogaan and Pax, and their complex internal lives. Their journey is physical as well as a mental one– especially for Rogaan. He really had some not-the-brightest-bulb moments but was nonetheless endearing. Watching their friendship get tested under the stress of survival and competition was intense but I was rooting for them throughout. The political drama was also a large part of the story and the different ways in which interpersonal relationships changed and stayed the same was fascinating.

Paths of Anguish has some deep world-building and a lot of new vocabulary for the different creatures, vegetation, people and their positions in society. This can be overwhelming at first but really just creates the perfect story for escapists or anyone looking for a well defined fantasy world to get lost in. This is a riveting adventure novel that I think will appeal to readers who like Mistborn or The Six of Crows. Paths of Anguish is a thrilling start to an epic fantasy series.

Pages: 307 | ASIN: B00JGFIW5A

Buy Now From B&N.com

%d bloggers like this: