Blog Archives

Retribution, Records of the Argos Book Two

Nicholas Hall, Nick to his friends, has done it. He’s completed his first official mission for the Allied Consortium. Now, finally, he’s ready to return to the deep reaches of space. His crew of four has turned into a family of six, and they are back for more in Michael J. Farlow’s newest book, Retribution: Records of the Argos.

As the second installment in the series, Retribution brings back all the characters we loved from Crucible, and I have to say I’m thrilled. While the writing is clear and easy to follow, the book’s best part must be the crew and their interactions. Nick, the narrator and resident human there to bridge the gap between his otherworldly crew and us. He brings readers quick quips and his stockpile of pop culture references. Then there’s Wizzy, the outgoing and outstanding AI of the Argos. Each interaction feels realistic. From banter to strategy all the way to politics, nothing about Retribution feels forced.

Moreover, this book brings more than just a quirky cast of characters to the table; Farlow has also graced us with a beautifully written plot. Unlike other sci-fi stories that rely heavily on action, Michael J. Farlow chooses to set his sights on something more: politics and strategy. While there’s no lack of fighting, Farlow makes it clear that sci-fi is more than just lasers and ships. Each mission and every action the crew takes is well-thought-out. Acting as peacekeepers and, some might say, heroes, it makes sense. What they do matters, along with what they say and even how they say it.

Retribution: Records of the Argos is a riveting science fiction novel that takes readers on an exciting adventure. Farlow’s ability to write realistic characters and a plot that’s more than just gun smoke and space. In addition, he does a fantastic job of bringing back old, beloved characters while introducing new ones. I, for one, can’t wait for the next entry in this series.

Pages: 358 | ASIN : B0BH41NKPW

Buy Now From Amazon

Retribution – Book Trailer

Once a vigilante, she’s now a cop … but she still plays by her own rules. A fast-paced, suspenseful thriller for readers of Candice Fox and Sarah Bailey.

Ace hacker, ex-prostitute, Jack Daniels drinker and part-time vigilante Lexi Winter returns, now working with the police – mostly – with a new enemy in the target and an old foe at the back of her mind.

Most probationary constables would baulk at chasing a drug dealer into a train tunnel in the dead of night. Not Lexi Winter. She emerges injured but alive, to face the wrath of her boss. Lexi may now be in uniform, but she has as much trouble with authority as ever, and is quietly using her hacking skills to investigate a notorious drug-dealing Sydney crime family with links to her old prey, the paedophile Damon Vaughn.

Meanwhile, Detective Sergeant Finn Carson investigates a death on a Sydney building site … which oddly enough, leads him to the picturesque Wondabyne station on the Hawkesbury River, and Inspector Rachael Langley oversees an investigation that could tie it all together. Lexi holds the key … if only she’ll toe the line …

‘Phenomenal. Lexi Winter is the gritty hero I didn’t know I needed … I’m now desperate for more’ – bestselling Australian author Nicola Moriarty on Unforgiven

The Dark Legend of the Foreigner

In 17th century Japan, a battle between the shoguns and the Lees raged for a lengthy period of time. The shoguns wanted the Lees to come join their elite army, but the Lees remained neutral and peaceful people. After much harassing, the husband and wife became supreme warriors. The Lees began killing whatever shoguns threatened them. After a particularly violent, gruesome battle with the shoguns, the Lees disappeared into the Oakla Mountains for about twenty years . The mastermind, an ancient wizard siding with the shoguns, commanded what was left of the shoguns to patrol the mountains of Oakla trying to find the Lees. Decades would pass.

In those twenty long years, the Lees raised a son who would become known as “the Master.” Phenomenal genetics would breed an individual who became a far better warrior and stronger fighter then both of his parents put together. In the Master’s infantile years, the mother and father went up on the mountains of Oakla, similar to Moses’ summoning of God, where they asked their God for a sacrifice. He answered, and in return of this sacrifice, he would give their extraordinary son, the Master, the power of immortality in the form of Five Scrolls of Terror. Their God asked for the skin from their baby’s head, a threatening request, but would ultimately create a child who would grow into that of the Master: the Skulled Warrior.

As the Lees returned from Oakla on that twentieth or so year, they got ambushed and killed—an attack decades in the making. When the Master found the bodies of his parents, he naturally flew into a blind rage and killed many shoguns, slaughtering anyone who stood in his way. As he battled on Oakla Mountain, his scrolls disappeared off the mountain and were never seen again. As the Master went to the end of Oakla searching for the ancient wizard for retribution, he came across an ancient hut, and inevitably the wizard and the Master did battle. The Master would ultimately kill the wizard, but he would put a curse on the Master that would remain with the Master for nearly four hundred years. As the Master’s statue, which in reality was the curse turning him to stone, was moved by cult followers and believers, it eventually found its way to New Amsterdam, which as we know, would evolve into present-day New York City.

An adventure unfolds as the Master awakens after a four-hundred-year slumber, masked as a mysterious piece of art, to deal with our current world as we know it. And so begins The Dark Legend of The Foreigner.

Buy Now From Amazon.com

%d bloggers like this: